Tags

, , , , , , ,

Photo 12-5-14 12 45 51 pm

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been a mommy’s girl. From the pet names we have coined for each other that literally transcend human understanding (I’ve lost count of the number of times both of us have gone, “Where did THAT come from?”) to the sporadic song-and-tippy-toe-dances I perform in front of her (by this I mean nonsensical screeching), we sure share a special (ly odd) friendship. Even in my 20th-odd year of existence, my mom remains my pillar of support and encouragement; pulling me up whenever I fall, giving me time and space to do my own growing, stepping in when the need arises. I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of being “mommy’s little girl” – and I don’t even mind. ❤

Photo 16-5-14 11 42 27 amThis Mother’s Day was a headache because while I wanted to gift my mom something, I really didn’t know what to that would mean something more than flour and water put together. But then I remembered how she used to make play-dough for us to “create pizza” with, and decided that this year I would do the same – albeit edible. While I’ve tried my hand at a variety of bakes, I’ve never baked bread, much less pizza before. What better occasion to than now?

Photo 16-5-14 10 39 48 am

I didn’t want to take any chances, so I followed Jamie Oliver’s pizza dough recipe, with the main exception being that I omitted the oil and butter entirely to skim off some fat from the dough. It was nothing short of tedious (waiting for the dough to rise was e x c r u c i a t i n g), but seeing my mom so happy and contented at the end of the day made it more than worth it! Both my mom and gor gave the thumbs-up for the pizza crust – it was soft and airy but still retained a firm, crusty texture – and though the toppings could’ve benefitted from a bit of pineapple, I’d say it was a pretty passable attempt for a first-timer. 🙂

Photo 21-5-14 4 55 34 pmAnd…. as you can see from my really hurried shot of the final product (along with this healthy salad I’ve fallen madly in love with) right at the top of this post, we really couldn’t wait to tuck in!

 

Have-It-Your-Way (No Butter, No Oil) Pizza

Yields: 4 7″ round pizzas (458 kcal/pizza excluding sauce and toppings)

Ingredients

For pizza dough:

  • 400 g strong bread flour
  • 100 g semolina flour
  • 1/2 tbsp sea salt
  • 7 g dried yeast
  • 1/2 tbsp golden caster sugar (7 g)
  • 325 ml lukewarm water

Suggested toppings:

Preparation

  1. Combine bread flour, semolina flour and salt. Sieve onto a clean surface (you’ll want a spacious area to work with). Create a well in the middle (approximately 10 cm, not too shallow). 
  2. Stir yeast and golden caster sugar into lukewarm water; leave to rest for a couple of minutes.
  3. Pour one-third of liquid into well. Bring flour in gradually from sides, swirling into liquid. Continue incorporating the remaining two-thirds of liquid. Keep mixing, drawing larger amounts of flour in until crumbly-looking. 
  4. Work rest of flour in with clean, flour-dusted hands. Knead until you have a smooth, springy dough, adding in more flour if necessary.
  5. Place ball of dough in a  large flour-dusted bowl, covering bowl with a damp cloth or clingfoil. Allow dough to rise and double in size (approximately an hour).
  6. When dough has doubled in size, remove to a flour-dusted surface. Proceed to “punch” it in with your hands (to “punch” out the air). Leave dough to settle for 15 minutes. You can then either use it immediately, or keep it, wrapped in clingfoil, in the fridge (or freezer) until required. 
  7. For immediate use: Pre-heat oven to 480 degrees F (250 Celsius). While waiting, divide dough into 4 equal parts, flatten with rolling pin/hands (around 7 inches or to desired thinness). Spread pizza sauce. Top with a generous shaving of mozzarella cheese. Add on desired toppings (and another layer of cheese if you please).
  8. Bake pizza on lowest rack of oven for around 7-8 minutes until crust turns into a nice golden-brown. Remove from oven and serve hot.

Note: For convenience, consider rolling out raw pizza dough before storage. To prevent pizzas from sticking to each other, place them on oil and flour-dusted tinfoil pieces to be stacked on top of one another. Wrap stacks in clingfoil before fridging.

