Tags

, , , , ,

Photo 5-5-14 5 24 04 pm

Secret: I am not a fan of salad. At all. To those who’ve been hanging out with me regularly over the past year you’d probably be going, “WHAT?!” by now. For all my rave about “eat salads to eat clean” for the past half a year, you have been duped.

I do try my best to eat clean (I love, and I mean, LOVE my broccoli), but my tastebuds have no affinity whatsoever with most raw foodstuff – when I do however, I ply my raw greens with salad dressings, and we all know how bad those are for you. Yes, even the “low-fat”/”no-fat” ones fiercely advertised to be “the healthy consumer’s smartest choice”.

The other day, I had absolutely nothing to eat and you know me when I’m hungry (not a happy being). The only thing in my pantry was, yes, you guessed it – lettuce and tomato. And because I wasn’t in the mood for clogging up my arteries, I decided to experiment with making my own condiments. I ended up with some really horrid-tasting stuff (read: ground cashews, seaweed, sesame seeds…. Bleargh!) but then out of desperation, I threw together some peanut butter and yogurt and đŸ™‚ Let’s just say I won’t be going back to bottled condiments for a while.

(I actually performed a google search on this after and found out that this already exists out there but ah who cares, plus points to Princess Jo for coming up with something that’s…. already out there. No possibly of patenting then, I guess. *cries*)

 

Healthy Peanut Butter-Yogurt Salad

Serves: 2 (80 kcal/serving)

Ingredients

  • Butterhead lettuce, roughly chopped (100 g)
  • 1 small tomato, roughly chopped (50 g)
  • 1 small apple (or go on a fruit rampage and spam grapes, strawberries, berries etc.)
  • 1/4 cup (60 g) vanilla yogurt (or any flavor of choice)
  • 2/3 tbsp (10 g) all-natural peanut butter (I use Adam’s 100% natural pb)
  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

Preparation

  1. For salad-base: Combine lettuce, tomatoes and apple.
  2. For dressing: Combine yogurt, peanut butter and lemon juice. Mix well.
  3. Serve cold.
